Webinar: Working with US and European Customs Authorities to Exclude Infringing Imports




September 21, 2016 11:00AM–12:00PM


While many companies routinely register their intellectual property and commence court actions to stop the sale of products that infringe their trademarks, designs, copyrights and patents, some overlook an important component of intellectual property protection and enforcement: detaining infringing imports at the border through Customs. With the rise of infringing and counterfeit goods being made in China and shipped into US and European ports, the importance of working with Customs authorities to stop infringing, counterfeit and pirated goods before they ever enter US and European markets cannot be understated.

Foley Hoag will present a 60-minute webinar on Wednesday, September 21 at 11:00 am EDT, 8:00 am PDT, 5:00 pm CEST on how to effectively protect intellectual property rights (IPR) at the border through US and EU Customs enforcement.

Topics to Be Discussed

  • The role of US and EU Customs authorities in IPR protection and enforcement
  • The types of intellectual property that can be protected through US and EU Customs and the scope of protection
  • US and EU Customs enforcement procedures
  • Requesting action by US and EU Customs
  • How to train US and EU Customs authorities about your brand and products
  • The importance of active and effective engagement with US and EU Customs
  • Examples of Dos and Don’ts when dealing with US and EU Customs


  • Julia Huston, Partner, Chair, Trademark, Copyright & Unfair Competition Practice, Foley Hoag LLP - Boston